The Storm

by Bart

I have been considering life with it’s good times and rough times. I have decided it is like being in a boat at sea. Here are a few thoughts for your consideration.

My life is like a small boat in God’s big sea. At times I am riding on top of a wave with the warm sun on my back and a cool breeze. Life is good. Other times the sea is relatively still and not much is going on. Life is good, but less exciting. Then other times it is like being in the middle of a storm. Lightning strikes, thunder roars, and waves crash over the bow almost drowning me. The sky is black and it is impossible to see what is ahead due to always being at the bottom of the wave. Life is good. This is the interesting, no…incredible thing I have realized. It is easy to be happy when things are going good, no big revelation here. Life is also good in the rough seas as the storm rages around me. How is this you ask? Life is good because although my small boat is being tossed by the storm on God’s sea; I am on God’s sea. Even though I cannot see over the next wave; I am on God’s sea. Even though the sun does not shine and I feel like I might drown; I am on God’s sea. I realized that I do not have to understand what makes the waves and the storm, why they come or how long they will last as long as I remember that I am on God’s sea.

Why is life good when it stinks? Because it is enough to just be on God’s sea.

God is good all the time and all the time God is good.

