Monday, 05 May 2008

by Bart

I just finished Organic Church by Neil Cole.  It is an outstanding book which speaks to what I have been hearing and seeing from many very different places; go into all the world and make disciples.  Neil tells a powerful story of a small church church started by his daughter , 15, and her friends.  After they had been meeting for a few months he visited them and saw a great church.  He ask everyone what other churches they had been to and they were mega-churches or Godzilla churches as he called them.  He ask how many feel they could start a Godzilla church and no one raised their hand, but when he ask who thought they could start a church like they were in all hands were raised.  He then made a powerful observation, “This scares the devil to death”.

This story made me question two things.  First is why do we set the bar for fulfilling the great commission so high by imposing a man made goal of getting people to come to our traditional churches?  We are told that those in darkness will not come into the light because they fear it so should we not follow the example of Jesus and take the light into the darkness?  The second question is what is keeping me from fulfilling the great commission? 

My prayer is that I will follow the Lord in such a way as my actions will result in, 18 Jesus said, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven. 19 Listen, I have given you power to walk on snakes and scorpions, power that is greater than the enemy has. So nothing will hurt you. 20 But you should not be happy because the spirits obey you but because your names are written in heaven.”, Luke 10.

