Monday, 14 April 2008

by Bart

Today I read Psalm 104.

My heart has been feeling the divide between those who have money and those who do not.  As a church we are clearly called to be the ones who feed the world with both the eternal meal of Christ and the temporal meal of bread.  We are not.  I am not.  I have a good friend who is the sole income in his family with four children and might spend a year in jail.  He did not murder, steal, or even sell crack to orphans.  He ran a stop sign, could not pay the fine, lost his license, was arrested twice for driving on a suspended license, and finally violated his parole by not making weekly payments to the court.  All of this would not have been a problem if he had a little money in the first place.  The value of my extra television sets, the food we throw away in a year, or even the money I spend on shakes would have make all the difference in the life of his family.

Money is not the real issue.  The real problem is that I did not know his need because I did not KNOW him.  I am surrounded by people every day with needs.  I (we) are called to be the Body of Christ to these people, but I do not know them.  I do not want Christ to say He does not know me.

Abba father please help us to get it right and forgive us for all the times we have gotten it wrong.

