Thursday, 10 April 2008

by Bart

I read Psalm 104 aloud and the armor of God from Ephesians

12 Our fight is not against people on earth but against the rulers and authorities and the powers of this world’s darkness, against the spiritual powers of evil in the heavenly world.

Eph 6:12 struck me different this morning.  I had always focused on the who we were fighting against section, but the first part struck me this morning.  If we are not fighting against people, even “evil” people, then the command to love my neighbor gets a little easier.  I can now insert words into the scripture like, we are not fighting against Osama, we are fighting against the powers of darkness.  This clearly says it is not the person.  We are all children of God. Who is your fill in the blank.

Lord let me see who I have been fighting against.  Please replace the spirit of battle with a spirit of loving compassion in my heart and give me the strength to reconcile with them through your grace.

